A few years ago, I remember thinking that I would not like jumping out of an helicopter. Somehow it was not my cup of tea. The idea was there just because my eldest daughter was in the Cadets and two massive helicopters had appeared one afternoon by the astroturf. When we moved in the Midlands, I kept seeing hot air balloons behind the church steeple or beyond the trading estate. Friends and acquaintances mentioning in passing birthday or Valentine gifts and you hear invariably the odd ‘ I went on a helicopter’.. so that must be the latest fad!..

There is more. Fundraisers for charities of all sort, including parish shares, cannot just motivate people to give just out of good will. Givers need to be prodded and transformed into a ‘cheerful giver’. Hence the idea of skydiving and other ‘extreme’ sports. Are you tempted? Have you conquered your fear of vertigo? Have  you booked your next jump?

