Let’s read it! Reading what? Why don’t you read?

This week has gone so fast and it has been really nice. Where shall I start?  I will not speak about work because I like my job so much and if I start, it would be as if I was starting a novel. Just the day-to-day adventures! First, I must tell you how much I like reading. I consider reading as a privilege and a gift. As I am now working nearer home, I have more time to indulge in some reading before I tackle marking and planning in the evening. Over the years, I have become a fussy reader, call it choosy, I do not want to waste time to read rubbish, it goes the same with newspapers, magazines or blogs.

Another habit of mine is that if I like a book a lot, I will read and enjoy so much of it and then stop reading and keep it for later..I am not sure why I do that. Do you do that too? Could it be that I need to be reassured that come to the crunch, I have got something really good to enjoy! Before Christmas, I read a beautiful book called Song of a Stranger that gives you interesting pointers on how you can be faithful to God in a non-Christian society without compromising your beliefs (I quote) and somehow I stopped before the last chapter, The Best is still to come. Before the New Year, I ordered 2 books on amazon, Compelled by Love by Heidi Baker that I have nearly finished and Life Together by Dietrich Bonhoeffer that I cannot wait to start. Also, I have been reading on and off a French book called ‘Les Aristocrates’, well-written, light and humorous  by Michel de Saint Pierre.heidi baker

So Tuesday night, I read Compelled by Love and I got very emotional.  In the war-torn, poverty-stricken country of Mozambique, Heidi Baker and her husband have experienced God’s miraculous provisions and witnessed the transformed hearts of people caught in desperate life-or-death situations.  I could not stop reading and that evening as I still had to do marking and planning, I went to bed at 12.30 am. Wednesday morning,I had a meeting at 8 a.m. so Im and I were out of the house by 730. In the evening, I could not wait to read Compelled by Love. The same thing happened on Thursday and tonight I decided to stop otherwise I would have finished it.  So, what is your best read? Do you have any particular reading habits? Have an excellent white week-end!

Leave a Reply

