There’s No Such Thing As The Worthy Poor

This is worth reading! Have a blessed Saturday.

The Accidental Missionary

Image
* The Homeless Jesus statue in Toronto

I remember my first time like it was yesterday. I was fifteen years old. It was Christmas morning. As a gift to our entire family, my mother had the brilliant idea to go down to the Annual Red Andrew’s Christmas Dinner and help feed the needy in Oklahoma City.

You can imagine our reactions. All of us had made lists and checked them twice, and I can promise you this: hairnets and homeless people were not what any of us wanted in our stockings. But we couldn’t say no to Mom, so we sucked it up and got in the car.

All the way there, mom was saying, “It’ll be fun! We’ll meet some new people. We’ll get to serve some food. We’ll probably even get to hand out presents!”

Mom was wrong.

By the time we arrived to the volunteer booth, all…

View original post 1,167 more words

One comment

  1. Beautiful–thank you. This echoes the message a friend and Food Bank administrator heard. Yet while reading it I thought, “If I give to the undeserving poor, I will not have money left for those who really need help.” The answer to that is simple, of course. If I’m truly walking with God, I will know what to do.

Leave a Reply

