This morning, I went to church in Hixon and we happened to sing the following hymns;  we are very fortunate as these hymns were accompanied by guitar and mandolin. Our keyboard and violin musicians were away today. I confess that I am not too keen on the organ! These are some of my favorite. I suppose they are ‘traditional’ however for me they are very new and wonderful since I discovered them only eight years ago.

Jesus shall take the highest honour
Jesus shall take the highest praise
Let all earth join heaven in exalting
The Name which is above all other names
Let’s bow the knee in humble adoration
For at His name every knee must bow
Let every tongue confess He is Christ, God’s only Son
Sovereign Lord, we give You glory now

For all honour and blessing and power
Belongs to You, belongs to You
All honour and blessing and power
Belongs to You, belongs to You
Lord Jesus Christ, Son of the living God

I am a new creation

I am a new creation,

no more in condemnation,

here in the grace of God I stand.

My heart is overflowing,

my love just keeps on growing,

here in the grace of God I stand.

And I will praise You, Lord,

yes I will praise You, Lord,

and I will sing of all that You have done.

A joy that knows no limit,

a lightness in my spirit

here in the grace of God I stand.

There is a Redeemer,
Jesus, God’s own Son,
Precious Lamb of God, Messiah,
Holy One,

Thank you oh my Father,
For giving us Your Son,
And leaving Your Spirit,
‘Til the work on Earth is done.

Jesus my Redeemer,
Name above all names,
Precious Lamb of God, Messiah,
Hope for sinners slain.

Thank you oh my Father,
For giving us Your Son,
And leaving Your Spirit,
‘Til the work on Earth is done.

When I stand in Glory,
I will see His face,
There I’ll serve my King forever,
In that Holy Place.

Thank you oh my Father,
For giving us Your Son,
And leaving Your Spirit,
‘Til the work on Earth is done.

What about you, what are your favorite hymns or worship songs? 🙂 Do you play an instrument in your church?

