At last, our daughters visited us one after the other. Tonight I will speak about Im’s visit and I will tell you about Cam’s visit tomorrow! Even though time’s gone so fast, I find myself thinking of what we said and what we did together and my heart is filled with joy and I give thanks to the Lord for his abundant blessings on our family.

Imo who studies in London flew from Stansted and stayed ten days with us. I picked her up in Poitiers and as we were driving off the car park, we saw Mickle our Scottish friend who lives also in Civray so I offered him a lift. That evening we went to a  restaurant called The Relais civraisien. I ‘d booked before hand asking them if they had a choice of vegan food. It was very quiet, no ambiance. Steven chose the ‘tête de veau’. Imogen had an  asparagus and carrot starter and another vegetable dish for her main. In England, in most menus, there is a choice of Vegetarian dishes indicated with a V and if there are less Vegan options, chef and waitresses know about them.

The following week we went to the Hotel du Commerce restaurant.  When I booked , I asked if they had anything for my daughter who is a vegan, in French ‘végétalien’. Once I explained what it meant, the owner told me that they could cater for her. When we looked at the menu, there was nothing at all for vegetarian or vegan. Everything had meat or fish/seafood so we spoke to the waitress and again we had to explain what it meant. Fortunately, the chef appeared and told us that he could do a risotto with vegetables; he had a dairy cream that he could use. Imo said she’d rather have the risotto made with water. Our food was wonderful and beautifully presented and we had a great time!

We went to the cinema and watched Marseille, a very good comedy!

For my birthday we went to my brother Denis who lives in Niort. The night before Imo helped me prepare a drizzle lemon cake. Denis cooked a leg of lamb for us and roasted vegetables for  Imo. We watched a film at his too but I cannot remember its name!

Have a blessed evening  🙂

