Surrender? Really?

I remember a special service in Bolton UK just a few months before I confessed Jesus as my saviour and redeeemer. (Back in 2007) During that service the pastor mentioned that Jesus gave his life for us and that we should give ours to him. I never heard that before (long story) and I wanted to know more about it. Then I found out an explanation of the word surrender, surrender your whole to Jesus, our beautiful King. It does mean that I let Him speak through me to others (which is much better than me) At times I am completely surprised. One example!

Back in England in 2015, one of my students in my tutor group at the end of the registration seemed upset and lost. She told me her parents were separating and it was starting to get messy. So this is what came out of my mouth. You know that I am a Christian. She agreed. I continued. I will pray that your parents get together. She smiled and thanked me and left. 6 months later at the end of the registration session, she just said as she was walking out.. by the way Miss, my parents are back together. I answered, wow Good news. Err, such a wonderful news. Our Father in heaven can do the impossible, we just wait in faith.

That takes me to  my present challenge: letting the Lord look after our children and their life. Pretty hard! When I speak to other parents, it can be a sore point or on the contrary, the song of victory. Yesterday I read a post that quoted:

Psalm 112:1-2  Praise the LORD. Blessed is the man who fears the LORD, who finds great delight in his commands. {2} His children will be mighty in the land; the generation of the upright will be blessed.

We also read in 1 Corinthians 7:14  For the unbelieving husband has been sanctified through his wife, and the unbelieving wife has been sanctified through her believing husband. Otherwise your children would be unclean, but as it is, they are holy.

Surrender to the Lord Jesus is  indeed a sweet thing for He is just and loving, patient and good with his children.

 

 

Leave a Reply

